## HAND COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS

415 West 1st Avenue, Mail slot 7 & Suite 203 MILLER, SOUTH DAKOTA 57362-1346 (605) 853-2182

http://hand.sdcounties.org/commissioner Community Alerts by www.alertsense.com

## RESOLUTION 2022-08 ESTABLISHES ELECTION PRECINCTS AND POLLING PLACES

WHEREAS, Hand County Resolution 2022-01 established new boundaries for each of the county's five commissioners, and

WHEREAS, as a result of the new commission districts, the most efficient means to conduct elections is by reducing the number of precincts from 12 to 5 and assigning each a polling place, and

WHEREAS, SDCL 12-14-1 requires the commissioners to establish by resolution the election precincts and designate the polling places within such precincts, and

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, that the following commissioner districts shall have the following polling places, to wit:

<u>Commissioner District 1</u> includes the townships of Plato, Wheaton, Burdette, Holden, York, Gilbert, Grand, St. Lawrence, Pearl, Hulbert, Rose Hill, Hiland, Spring Lake and Bates. Voters in Commissioner District 1 shall vote at the home of Doug Schiltz, located just west of the village of Vayland on 369<sup>th</sup> Avenue, just south of the railroad tracks.

Commissioner District 2 includes the area east of SD HWY 45 (Broadway Avenue) beginning at 9<sup>th</sup> Street North and south along the centerline of the roadway to 4<sup>th</sup> Street SW, then east along the meandering city limits to the intersection of East 2<sup>nd</sup> Street and East 7<sup>th</sup> Avenue, then north along the centerline of East 7<sup>th</sup> Avenue to the alley north of East 7<sup>th</sup> Street, then following the city limit to East 4<sup>th</sup> Avenue, then north by street or open field to what would be East 9<sup>th</sup> Street if it extended east of East 3<sup>rd</sup> Avenue, all of which lies within the present city limits of the City of Miller. Voters in Commissioner District 2 shall vote in the Miller Community Center gymnasium.

Commissioner District 3 includes the area west of SD HWY 45 (Broadway Avenue) beginning at 4<sup>th</sup> Street SW, and meandering along the city limits to just west of 1<sup>st</sup> Street SW near 3<sup>rd</sup> Avenue West, then west along the railroad tract following the city limits to what would be 11<sup>th</sup> Avenue West if it existed, then returning east to the city limits which roughly follows the meandering of Ree Creek until it reaches West 7<sup>th</sup> Street. From the Ree Creek on West 7<sup>th</sup> Street, it includes the annexed properties addressed along said street, then from a point north of West 7<sup>th</sup> Street and west of Ree Creek, it returns to follow the meandering of Ree Creek to 14<sup>th</sup> Street West (US HWY 14), then east to SD HWY 45 (North Broadway Avenue), then north along the centerline of SD HWY 45 to north city limit line north of what is presently the industrial park. To the East of SD HWY 45 (Broadway Avenue), District 3 also includes the area north of the alley which runs parallel to East 9<sup>th</sup> Street to a point approximately one block east of East 3<sup>rd</sup> Avenue, then runs north following the city limits to and around the Vista Drive development back to East 3<sup>rd</sup> Avenue, then north to and around the former SD-DOT (now Hand County) shop complex, then returns to East 3<sup>rd</sup> Avenue, then north to the north city limit which runs along the north edge of the industrial park lots, and returns to SD HWY 45 (Broadway Avenue). Voters in Commissioner District 3 vote in the Miller Community Center gymnasium.

<u>Commissioner District 4</u> includes the townships of Spring Hill, Rockdale, Logan, Ohio, Glendale, Cedar, Como, Mondamin, Pleasant Valley and that portion of Miller Township which does not include Commissioner

Districts 2 and 3 as stated previously. Voters in Commissioner District 4 shall vote at the Sunshine Bible Academy east gymnasium.

Commissioner District 5 includes the townships of Harrison, Spring, Park, Linn, Howell, Fairview, Ontario, Campbell, Alden, Florence, Alpha, Greenleaf, Riverside, Ree Heights, and Midland. Voters in Commissioner District 5 shall vote at the former Polo school gymnasium.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that should Hand County adopt the use of live poll books, where each precinct and precinct polling place has live access to the voter registry list, that a voter will then be able to vote in or at any of the polling places so mentioned, irrespective of the precinct in which they currently are registered.

Adopted this 1st day of February, 2022 with

votes cast for and O votes cast against the enactment of

this resolution.

Attest:

Greg Palmer, Chai